top of page

Social Media Can Swing a Vote


Beware of fake news when making voting decisions.

I vote every time there is an election. As a "military brat", I find that it is my duty and I must honor the opportunity to vote and make the country I live in better. I believe that you cannot complain if you do not vote.


For most of my eligible voting years, I have relied on social media to help me create my own voting decision. Not all platforms may change or set my decision in stone, but it does help me figure out what I believe this country needs.



Even though we can learn more about politics on social media, it does not mean we have to agree.

Social media played a part in my experience, information-gathering and voting decisions for the recent midterm election. I went on Facebook, Snapchat, Instagram, and Twitter and found many posts about politics and the recent election. Surprisingly, YouTube showed me many advertisements for Dino Rossi and Kim Schrier.


These advertisements did not inform me much because they were talking smack about each other more than I heard them talking about themselves and what they will do if elected. They may not have told much, but they used social media to their advantage because of the big platform.


According to Emma Sipple from Daily Toreador, politicians use social media more than direct communication to further their campaigns and policies (Sipple Pg.1). Emma says that "fitting everything into a narrative contributes to how people elect the people they follow on social media".



Fake news is more common now than ever.

I agree that social media is the best way to influence someone's view on politics and elections. Personally, I would not be able to make a voting decision without checking social media to find all the facts and see what I agree with. The one problem with this way of thinking is the fact that there has been a lot of fake news recently.


Emma Sipple believes that "fake news gets passed along because it feels correct and it fits within narratives rather than a consideration of facts" (Sipple Pg. 1). Fake news can obstruct our views, but it is up to viewers to decipher what is true and what is not.


Personally, I like to do in-depth research before making any decision or opinion. I will look at more than one social media site, source, and opinion. I like to see and hear other people's opinion so that I can determine what I believe and stand for.



My social media and voting habits match millennials in some cases. My friends always choose to vote and every student I have met tell me that they vote. Millennials aren't known for voting so I may just be lucky with who I meet and talk to. Social media has affected all of their voting decisions because of how easy it is to obtain information and views of other people.


My social media and voting habits match millennials in some cases. My friends always choose to vote and every student I have met tell me that they vote. Millennials aren't known for voting so I may just be lucky with who I meet and talk to. Social media has affected all of their voting because of how easy it is to obtain information and views of other people.


8 views0 comments

コメント


IT’S YOUR STORY

Meghan Rochelle

bottom of page