top of page

Fitness Façade


Real Life vs Instagram modeling

How many of you scroll through Instagram and wonder how gorgeous women look so fit in every picture?

This may not be a surprise to everyone, but not every picture is true to how a fitness model looks like in daily life. They may be fit, but the picture they use can be posed and altered (digitally) to change the way the body looks. Lighting is a popular technique used by models everywhere to change the way the body looks and slim it down. It can change the way the face looks, define the abdomen, slim the thighs, etc. It is a common trick used in many modeling agencies.



It is important for viewers to understand that the body fluctuates daily and bodies are not always muscular looking all day. According to Cindy Banyai, "Throughout the day your body weight can fluctuate from 2 to 4 lbs. Generally, you weigh less in the morning than in the evening. This is due to the things you consume during the day and the various functions of your body while you sleep." This is important to remember so you do not feel confused why at different parts of the day you weigh more. Remember that the number you weigh does not depend on how fit you are. Muscle mass is what matters!https://www.livestrong.com/article/483853-how-much-can-weight-fluctuate-from-morning-to-night/



According to https://madnessmedia.net/instagram-vs-reality/ Chessie King discussed her personal fitness account. She makes several changes to the way she poses and edits her photos. According to Chessie, "It's taken me a long long time to get where I am now with my body and self-confidence,” she continued. “I think the more open I am on social media, the easier it is for me to accept my own body. Every time I show my ‘wobbly bits’ or my ‘imperfect bits,’ I feel a sense of freedom. I understand my body better than ever and want to share my experience with others, so hopefully it guides them to a similar place I’m in now.” She posts many photos of her comparing the Instagram version and the real version of her photos. It is humorous and clever. It is crazy how well models can use their body, lighting, and editing skills to portray a different angle and version of themselves. Remember that Instagram is what you want others to see, so do not feel bummed when you see women and men looking perfect all the time. In reality, they are wanting to look better everyday just like most of us do.


Chessie King


Many models admit to using various methods and posing to gain the appearance they want their followers to see. In my opinion, this is not deceitful or harmful to viewers. If the model is more confident with one picture rather than another, that is totally fine. As long as the fitness model is not bashing men and women with weight problems/eating disorders then go ahead. It is up to the viewer whether or not they want to contribute in following them on social media, while having the knowledge of them posing in ways you would not see in person.

Remember, Instagram is only what you want others to see.

24 views0 comments

Commenti


IT’S YOUR STORY

IT’S YOUR STORY

Meghan Rochelle

bottom of page